Pumpkin bread is not just for Thanksgiving

I have a weak spot for American food. Peanut Butter, Maple Syrup, pancakes (the proper kind), cinnamon and buttercream based cakes are all favourites in my kitchen. It must be my Canadian roots…

Even though I don’t really celebrate Halloween or Thanksgiving (being Jewish and not an american), we grew three beautiful pumpkins in our garden and I wanted to make the most of them. Pinterest was full of inspiration but I was in the mood for some experimenting.

2012-10-25 16.14.56

With the smaller pumpkin I made a curry and soup. One of them was left too long and went off, but the largest one we managed to use and made apple and pumpkin butter and apple and pumpkin fruit leather.

With four large jars of pumpkin (and apple) butter, I was free to have my fun and create pumpkiny spicy recipes.

Elena from Elena’s Pantry makes a beautiful pumpkin bread and when I made it the first time it was great but I wanted something a bit more ‘bready’ and not as moist. Most of Elena’s baking recipes use ground almonds as a flour substitute, but I felt that some shop bought gluten free flour will ad body and make it less flimsy. Turns out I was right…

Gluten Free pumpkin bread:

Based on this recipe from elena’s pantry, with my changes.

Important point 01: This yields a very small loaf so if you only have a bigger loaf tin, double the quantities but omit one egg for each time you double.

Important point 02: I used the pumpkin and apple butter I made which already contains sugar, so the recipe has no added sweetening agents. If you are using unsweetened roasted pumpkin, add 2tbsp honey.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup Ground Flax Seed

1/4 cup Gluten Free flour (I used self-rising but plain will be fine too)

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup ground almonds

1tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp (pinch) cloves (I’m not a fan of cloves so add more if you like)

1/2 cup pumpkin butter

3 eggs

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 180˚C (350˚F) and line your loaf tin with parchment paper

2. Place all the dry ingredients in a food processor  and combine

3. Add the pumpkin butter and the eggs and mix in the food processor until well combined.

4. Pour the batter into the loaf tin

5. Bake for 35min, cool and serve.

 

It will probably not last long enough to go stale, but if it does, this bread makes a great ingredient for delia’s bread & butter pudding. Tried and tested!

Be’Teavon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

